Dj Prof

Just another DJ…trying to change the world one mix at a time…

The Roots & Groove Radio Show – 1.3.2011

So it’s officially 2011.

I am very excited at the prospect of a whole year of musical discoveries, learning new levels of DJ skillz, and of course working with my clients. Not much to say for this show, it’s not mixed live, but I definitely placed every song where it is, when it is, and how it is.  Tonight, I meditated on my year and “our” year (the human race) and intensely focused on my emotional feelings that arise from this particular annual chronological vantage point in life.

I begin the mix process by listening to music from my library, when I hear a song that “feel’s” right to me, I toss it in a crate and keep moving. Once my crate is full of about 60-70 songs, I leave the main library and fine tune the crate into “Prime Cuts” and then I make a crate called “Actual”.  The Actual is the final draft of the mix, I play with the order, and make final cuts.

As a DJ, and a music lover, the “feeling” is what it’s all about.  It’s like putting a puzzle together, playing Tetris or  Jenga, you’ve gotta catch that groove, that balance, and you have to hold out to see the picture until it is complete. But it is worth it in the end.

I don’t have a title for the mix, but if I was gonna give it one, this is what it would be:

“Your level of anger or conviction, is never proof that your argument is valid.”  or “The Expan$e”

Thanks for reading, and thanks for listening!

Click the links below (3) to listen the radio show.

R&G.RadioShow.1.3.11.Part1

R&G.Radioshow.partII.1.3.11

R&G.Radioshow.PartIII.1.3.11

Click the link below to see the song list.

Broken Levee Blues- DJ Shadow
Goodnight Bad Morning-The Kills
I’ve Been Thinking-Handsome Boy Modeling School & Cat Power
The Morning After-Count Five
Sink, Florida, Sink-Against Me!
Little Kids-Kings of Convenience
Lately-The Helio Sequence
Black Balloon-The Kills
Talk Show Host-Radiohead
The Thing with Two Heads-Kids in Tracksuits
Little River-The Tallest Man on Earth
Like A Mountain-Timbre Timbre
Thirteen-Elliott Smith
Matchstick Maker-Bowerbirds
Lemon Grove Avenue-Mason Jennings
Up Side-? & The Mysterians
New Hampshire-Matt Pond PA
Nervous Rex-Laura Stevenson & The Cans
Down By The Water-P.J. Harvey
I Wish You Love-Sunflow
One More Time With Feeling-Regina Spektor
Rainbow Sign-Fruit Bats
Howlin’ for My Baby-M. Ward, Jordan Hudson & MIke Coykendall
Made in the Dark-Hot Chip
Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright-Donavan Frankenreiter
Aquarius-Various Artists:)
Two Hearts, A Snake, and a Concubine-Hoots and Hellmouth
Emergency-Ace Enders and a Million Different People
The Lost Song-The Cat Empire
Sure Thing-Miquel
Be Kind & Remind-Roque Wave
Standing Outside A Broken Phone Booth With Money In My Hand
Inner City Blues-Marvin Gaye
Information

This entry was posted on 01/04/2011 by in The Roots and Groove Radio Show.

Follow Prof on 8Tracks

Follow Dj Prof on Twitter

Follow Prof on Mixcloud

Follow Prof on Pinterest

Dj Prof on FB

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

