Dj Prof

Just another DJ…trying to change the world one mix at a time…

DJ Mark Farina…and then some…

Dj Mark Farina was first introduced to me in an old stereo shop in Ardmore, PA where my father and I went one day to get me my first pair of speakers to go with my all in-one system (I tried to find a picture but couldn’t).  It just had a turntable on the top and two tape decks, one with a record function:)  Any how, the “stereo dude” at the store was using Mark Farina’s Mushroom Jazz 1 to sell speakers, I remember thinking that I had heard something that was exciting and new and reached my young ears on a level that nothing had before.  I remember months later calling the store and asking them what CD it was.  They fortunately knew exactly what I was talking about and I acquired the CD.  I killed it…literally listened to the CD until it just didn’t work anymore.  Then I found, Kevin Yost, Kruder and Dorfmeister, Theivery Corporation, Morcheeba, Massive Attack and…well…the rest is  history.

One comment on “DJ Mark Farina…and then some…

  1. jb
    10/07/2010

    I love the experience of finding something new (at least to you) and being swept up in it. That in turn leads to many more doors being opened as you connect the dots to similar artists and genres as well as those who inspired them.

    I’ve had similar experiences with afro-beat, Brazilian music and early ’70’s funk (not to mention rockabilly and drum & bass).

    http://thenexus.libsyn.com/index.php?post_id=6051

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 10/07/2010 by in DJ Prof's Fav's.

Follow Prof on 8Tracks

Follow Dj Prof on Twitter

Follow Prof on Mixcloud

Follow Prof on Pinterest

Dj Prof on FB

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

